Saturday, January 21, 2017, 3:00 PM
New Hope Presbyterian Church

Sunday, January 22, 2017, 3:00 PM
Plymouth Congregational Church

Wesley Schulz, conductor

MUSSORGSKY Khovantchina: Introduction, Dawn on the Moskva River
TCHAIKOVSKY Selections from Sleeping Beauty: Suite op.66a
KALINNIKOV Symphony No. 1, G minor

In this all-Russian program Seattle Festival Orchestra explores the timeless works of Mussorgsky and Tchaikovsky as well as the seldom-heard Symphony No. 1 in G minor by Kalinnikov. Mussorgsky left behind only a handful of completed works when he died in 1881. The Introduction to his opera Khovantchina was the only part he finished (although Rimsky-Korsakov had to do the orchestration) but it is a beautiful work that stands well on its own. Tchaikovsky remains one of the finest composers of ballet music and his suite from Sleeping Beauty brings this fairy tale to life. Enthusiasts of Tchaikovsky will surely enjoy Vassili Kalinnikov’s powerful Symphony No. 1. Kalinnikov’s life was cut short by illness bringing a promising composer’s life to an untimely close. Despite this, his First Symphony is a masterpiece outlining his immense talent.